Fast facts

The oneworld alliance brings together some of the world’s leading airlines, spanning over 800 destinations in 150 countries. The multiple award-winning alliance transports nearly one million passengers a day on board a combined fleet of more than 2,500 aircraft and 9,000 flights.

oneworld was the first global alliance to introduce interline ticketing (e-tickets) between member airlines, enabling customers to enjoy hassle-free transfers and greater flexibility across the network.

It is also a frequent winner of awards, such as:

  • Best Airline Alliance (2012,2011, 2010), Global Traveler
  • Best Airline Alliance (2010),Skytrax World Airline Awards
  • World’s Leading Airline Alliance (2004-2012), World Travel Awards


The alliance’s vision is to provide a smoother, value-added and more rewarding global travel experience for its customers. Every oneworld customer will always feel at home, wherever their journey may take them, with assurances of high standards of quality, service and safety throughout the oneworld network.


1998: Founding members (American Airlines, British Airways, Cathay Pacific, Qantas) announce intention to form oneworld

1999: oneworld takes off. Finnair and Iberia become oneworld’s first additional members

2000: Central management team is formed. LAN Airlines joins

2007: Royal Jordanian, Malév Hungarian Airlines and Japan Airlines join the alliance

2009: oneworld celebrates its 10th anniversary. Mexicana becomes its newest member

2010: S7 Airlines joins the group. Mexicana suspends its services, but stays as an inactive member

2012: airberlin becomes a full-fledged member. Malév Hungarian Airlines ceases operations due to financial difficulties